Glossary of Common Terms

5 Protective Factors

Parental resilience, social connections, knowledge of parenting and child development, concrete support in times of need, social and emotional competence of children.

Colorado Family Support Assessment 2.0 (CFSA 2.0)

The primary tool used by FRCA’s network to assess family strengths and needs; and monitor progress toward family self-reliance.

Family Development Service (FDS)

Families receive strength-based case management services to help achieve their goals.

Family Pathways Framework

A guide for family service provision and consistent tracking of information. The Family Pathways outlines three primary paths through which families receive services from FRCs.

Family Resource Center (FRC)

Family resource centers provide a safe, accessible place for families to connect with comprehensive, coordinated services that help them strengthen their families and become more self-reliant. Programs at each center are tailored to the culture, resources, and needs of the community they serve and focus on building on the strengths of each family and individual.

Family Strengthening Rating (FSR)

The system FRCA uses so that Members participate in levels of membership that meet the FRCA statute.

Family Support vs Family Development

Family Support is a term that encompasses all work that strengthens families, regardless of the area of focus. Family Development Services are direct service to families within the realm of case management to help families achieve their goals.

FRCA Member

A family resource center or program within an organization that adheres to FRCA’s guidelines and practices for membership in the association. Members pay yearly dues and attend meetings to stay up to date on FRCA’s membership requirements.

Frontiers of Innovation (FOI)

The research and development platform of Harvard University’s Center on the Developing Child.

Impact Study

Examines the effectiveness of a comprehensive, community-based approach to improving family health and wellbeing.

Practice Level Fidelity Matrix

An implementation tool to help assess current fidelity to a process, program or service.

Standards of Quality for Family Strengthening and Support

A research-based tool and training for planning, providing, and assessing quality practice around the 5 Protective Factors. The Standards of Quality are: Family Centeredness, Family Strengthening, Embracing Diversity, Community Building, and Evaluation.

Social Determinants of Health

Circumstances and environments in which people are born, grow up, live, work and play, which also influence many other factors such as family and child economic and health well-being.


Generally refers to a Two-Generation approach to strengthening families by providing access to high-quality early childhood education and workforce development and education for parents.